Skip to content

What about your friends?

July 5, 2009

What about your friends? Will they stand their ground? Will they be around?

I have a love hate relationship with facebook. I love the fact that you can reconnect with friends that you haven’t seen in years. I love how you can keep up to date with people that you recently met.  I enjoy being able to make comments on things that people that I know are thinking.  I enjoy exchanging articles and music and learning more about the world around me.

I hate when I meet someone only once and the next thing I know I’m receiving a friend request. WE are not friends. An acquaintance maybe, but a friend definitely not.

But I have to say thank you for facebook. I was able to reaquaint myself with people who really matter. Some of those people on my page aren’t friends, but regular acquaintances.

Recently I’ve come to terms with the fact that I was a member of a church group that inculcated a strong sense of self-hate and guilt inside of me. Fortunately, because of FB, I’ve been able to reconnect with the young people who were my friends regardless of those words that were spewed from the pulpit.

So thanks FB for reconnecting me with friends!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

