Skip to content

“Kimono Wine Bar” is Back!

May 2, 2010

Good food is hard to find, but it just got easier! The “Kimono Wine Bar” is back! Lauren Shannon has created a vision of retro elegance located in Minami-Aoyama. Take a walk back into time, it only takes 10 minutes from Roppongi, and pay homage to the blending of Eastern and Western art deco scenes from 1925-1935. “Kimono Wine Bar” is decorated with, “touches of Kimono fabric and design throughout the space.” Lauren said in a Japanzine interview. I can attest, upon a recent visit that these touches create a subtly seductive environment perfect for meeting old friends and new.

On my recent visit, I was able to try a few of the most delightful treats. To start with a had a fancy shmansy dish that’s not really an appetizer it’s more like a mouth waker uper!

Bite-sized yumminess!

This delightful treat was baked fromage with a tiny bit of spice on top. It’s a perfect nibble that tells your taste buds, it’s feeding time. My friends and I wanted to eat the whole plate and we sure did try, but home training and restraint ruled! You definitely need to head over and try one of these tasty bits!

In honor of our vegetarian friends there is a Gorgonzola Risotto with Spring Asparagus on the menu. The risotto was garnished with asparagus and wrapped with cheese. It’s a hearty meal for veggies and non-veggies. I enjoyed the subtle taste of cheese with the crispy crunch of the asparagus.

The risotto was tiny, but as I understand it a full portion is a bit larger. Actually a few days later I went back and a friend had a bowlful of this creamy concoction.

The risotto was the warm up for the Sunday Stew! The Sunday Stew was a spaghetti dish with home-made sauce that was slow cooked all day. This created a very hearty stew filled with all kinds of treats! This dish was a lot more than your momma’s pasghetti!

I enjoyed the rich sauce, but I didn’t need the ribs! Lauren said the ribs added to the robust taste. I guess I would have to taste it without the ribs to really know the difference. There were some other hidden gems in this dish. There were a bit-larger-than-my- mouth-meatballs that were great! They were soft without being mushy. The even had a bit of cheese on the inside. Hmmm…..good eatin’! This wouldn’t be a stew if there wasn’t more to come! Towards the end underneath the sauce I found a sausage. This pasghetti was a lot more effort than I would normally put into making at home. I think that would make me order it again. I have to admit, I’m not one to order spaghetti outside when I dine out. Nevertheless, if I had kids or a picky eater I would definitely recommend the Sunday Stew.

Of course there is always dessert! If you don’t make room for it, then why go out to eat?

The Almond Cake with Butter cream sauce was delightful. The sauce was heavy and interlaced with a light raspberry sauce. Often in Japan the sauces are on the light side. However, this butter cream made a stand. It had a full taste and was a perfect combination with the almond cake. The almond cake was crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. It had a very light taste that led to a great combination. My friend who ordered the same delectable treat said she wanted some ice cream. I could see that. I’m always game for more. As a friend always says, phatness phirst!

Of course, I’m talking about a wine bar and I never mentioned wine. Well, I did have the Kung-fu Punch. It was a sparkly white wine that was very enjoyable. But I love food more than booze, so I have to say I enjoyed my meal at “Kimono Wine Bar.”

Are you still reading? Stop and head over. I think it’s a great place to take visitors, small meeting groups, a date you would like to impress, anyone.

Check out Kimon’s website

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2010 12:19 PM

    Yummy~The food were vey fine and looked delicious~

    • roadlesswandering permalink*
      May 4, 2010 6:55 PM

      Thanks for reading! I checked out your website . Very interesting!

  2. December 3, 2010 9:21 PM

    wine bars are great. my father installed a wine bar in my home and my wife also loved it *`”

    • roadlesswandering permalink*
      December 7, 2010 4:41 PM

      If you are ever in Tokyo, you should check it out!

Leave a Reply

