Skip to content

Zouk in Hibiya Patio

August 31, 2010

 

I’m sure most people would agree that this summer was extremely hot. If you are like me, then you don’t like to turn on the air conditioner and leave it running all day.  So this summer, I grabbed my Mama Chari  and headed out to Hibiya Patio.  The Patio is a great place to sit and read for free in an air-conditioned location. I wish I had a sweater. It was so cold in there that the sweat that was rolling down my back turned into mini-icicles.   This made me think of a day in late fall when I headed out to Hibiya for an afternoon stroll and found myself dancing into the early evening.

My jaunt led me to the Hibiya Patio.  When I arrived at the Patio there was a Zouk lesson in full swing.  According to Wikipedia:

Zouk is a form of rhythmic music genre originated in the two French Overseas Departments of Guadeloupe and Martinique in the Caribbean. It was created by black Caribbeans who spoke creole languages.[4] It is sung mostly in Antillean creole.[3] Zouk has means “party” or “festival” in the local Antillean Creole of French, although the word originally referred to, and is still used to refer to, a popular dance, based on the Polish dance, the mazurka, that was introduced to the French Caribbean in the 19th Century.[1]In Africa, it is popular in franco– and lusophone countries. In Europe it is particularly popular in France, and in North America the Canadian province of Quebec.

I didn’t know that while I was dancing, but it turned into a great day. We started dancing and then a few of the dance team invited me out to eat! I had a great time. I’ve been meaning to attend another event, I just haven’t found the time.

Here is a taste of Zouk:

If you want to know more about Zouk in Tokyo check out these links:

http://www.waterorion.com/map_studio2.html

http://page.cafe.ocn.ne.jp/profile/zoukbeleza

http://zoukbeleza.pokebras.jp/

If you want to head over to the Patio follow these directions:

Maps

Yahoo (Japanese)
Mobile Map (Japanese)

Access

4 minutes walk from JR Yurakucho Station,

1 minute from exit A5 and A11 at Hibiya Station on the Chiyoda and Hibiya lines

Hibiya Patio Homepage (Japanese)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

